Week 1

I’ve been in Honduras for an entire week! And what a week it has been. The Sunday after we arrived we went to the international, English speaking church in San Pedro Sula. The whole service was comforting in more than one way: the congregation was mainly made up of missionaries (we even saw a team that flew with us the day before), and thus the message was geared towards fighting through the hardships of mission work which really made the congregation seem as one body because we could all relate, and the praise and worship were songs that my home church sang. We ate and came home to go to the village church that began at 3 in the afternoon. The village church is held in the school and is pastored by Justin who is one of our group’s leaders.

Monday is where the work began. With school only a week away, we had to prepare the buildings for the year. This meant cleaning and decorating the classrooms, getting rid of the old paces (the curriculum they use) and setting class schedules and school rules. Each day began with a meeting at the school to figure out both the rules and schedules, which were long and brain-tiring 3-4 hours each. Next we had to move desks, and sweep, and clean, and paint, and unload and sort the new paces, and get stung by a scorpion (nonvenomous) in the process. After me and Mary Hudson had finished our 1st grade classroom, we found out that 1st grade will be cancelled for the first three days of school due to a repairs on a large crack in the wall. This crack is huge in size, but also is a huge blessing for both me and Mary Hudson for we have no idea how we are supposed to teach 28 first graders, but, because of the crack, we will be able to sit in and shadow Syra’s 2nd grade class. Hopefully we can get an idea of how to teach. Be in prayer for me and Mary Hudson as we learn how to do this.

After a week of hard and hot work all the teachers, both gringos and hondureños, got the awesome opportunity to go to Pulhapanzak, a waterfall about an hour and a half from the village.

First we zip-lined atop the waterfall then we went under it. This was the greatest adventure I’ve ever experienced. Shrouded in the constant mist and spray of the falls, we took a 5 foot plunge into a pool and followed the guide to a cave like area where he explained, in Spanish, that we can’t breathe through our noses because of the intensity of the falls and we must breathe through our mouths. From there he lead us, via rope hugging the rocks, under the waterfall and into a cave. We sat in the cave for a while and he told us, in Spanish, that the Mayans used this cave to see their enemy, for there were two holes that were spaced perfectly for eyes, and through the holes you could see the water of the falls outside the cave. We left the cave and the guide told us to look up, once you got a break from the constant splashing, you could catch glimpses of the water flowing from the top of the falls 140 feet above you; I hope to never forget that sight. The guide lead us back to the pool we jumped into at the beginning and, seeing that we enjoyed jumping in so much, told us that we could go to a higher ledge and jump from there, so, of course, we did. It. was. incredible. I learned a few things through this trip. One was that I was not put in a group of sissies. Everyone on my team took every opportunity and embraced the fear in adventure. Another thing I realized is that God is not only incredible in that he made Pulhapanzak, but is incredible in that he sustains nature in its harmony.

On Sunday we made a few, last minute touches on the school before church began (we only go to the international church every other week) Mary Hudson and I had the opportunity to share our testimonies in church and Bob, the president of the school who also basically built the village, preached. I have always been hesitant to tell my testimony because I’ve always believed that it was boring. Nothing super major or life-shattering has happened in my life; I’ve never done drugs or been in a near-death car accident that made me see a vision of God calling me to Him. And for that reason, I’ve always thought that my story was boring, but that type of thinking is ridiculous. The story of God’s hand in my life is enough. Saying that my testimony is boring is saying that I wasn’t lost enough and that God wasn’t dramatic enough in the way he saved me. Bod said some things about my testimony after and through his words I learned that my testimony is very relatable perfectly demonstrates how God can heal, and remove self hate and pull you through the hardest times of your life. ¡Gracias a DIOS! My testimony is enough. In fact, my testimony is amazing,not because of me, but because of Him.

Now, I’m sure many are wondering what I’ve been eating, and when I tell you, you won’t believe me. I’ve eaten fried chicken every day. That’s right. The United States isn’t the only country who loves its fried chicken. Now, its not like there’s not other things to eat. A big reason we’ve eaten fried chicken every day is because Bod isn’t a fan of Honduran food and he has been paying for our lunch so…. Aside from fried chicken, we have eaten some baleadas which is a staple food of Honduras consisting of beans and egg in a tortilla sometimes with chorizo or chicken. Coffee is great here. Fruit is also great. The critters on the other hand, not so much. If you saw my Facebook post, you know what I’m talking about. there are flies, mosquitos, ants, lizards, scorpions, tarantulas, dogs, sheep, cows and horses. Be careful when picking anything up, you never know what is hiding under, behind, inside or on top of anything. BUT other than those things, Honduras is great. I love it. The people are so sweet and love to laugh and get to know you.

Thanks everyone for your continual prayers. Until next time,

-Dios les bendigaP1030306

4 thoughts on “Week 1

  1. Mom

    Wonderful update! Love the pictures but I know they can’t do it justice. Can’t wait to see them for myself…maybe in February. I’m excited for you and Mary Hudson to get to teach you little 1st graders. Praying for you and the whole team.

    Like

Leave a comment